Skip to content

Quite Contrary Gardens

how does your garden grow?

I harvested the first two zucchini of the season this afternoon. Grilled them up with a bit of honey and black pepper and they were oh-so-good! This variety is Costata Romanesca, an heirloom from Italy. Such intense, sweet zucchini flavor! This is the first year I’ve grown this variety and I am beyond pleased. Plus, the plants themselves, despite hailing from the Mediterrenean, seem to be thriving in this sticky, humid climate. I haven’t seen so much as a speck of powdery mildew or other fungal problem even though the wet, wet, wet cool weather has been the perfect breeding ground (just ask my roses!).

I got the seed for this great zucchini from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds. I highly recommend them for both excellent service and a mind-boggling selection.

